Public Program

DACAMERA Stop, Look and Listen! Concert: Celebrating Rothko

DACAMERA Young Artists present an online concert at the Menil Collection of music inspired by the art of Mark Rothko. Works by friends of Rothko—composers from the New York School—are complemented by two pieces by Mozart, a composer who was a source of inspiration for the artist.

The concert, which is offered online for viewers, was filmed in the Menil’s foyer, where a special display of large, luminous paintings by Mark Rothko are on display through June 6. This program and the museum’s installation of Rothko paintings are organized in conjunction with the Rothko Chapel’s 50th anniversary.


Morton Feldman, The King of Denmark, solo percussion
Morton Feldman, Piano Piece, solo piano
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Piano Sonata No. 5 in G Major, K 283 (II. Andante), solo piano
Earle Brown, String Quartet, string quartet
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, String Quintet No. 4 in G Minor, K. 516 (I. Allegro), string quintet

Attending the program:

This concert takes place online. The performance can be streamed directly on this page below through June 6.

About the series:

This concert is part of the Menil and DACAMERA’s ongoing series, Stop, Look and Listen!, family-friendly music and jazz concerts performed at the Menil Collection. These museum concerts are often designed to celebrate specific artworks and exhibitions on display in the museum.